Going the Distance

 

going the distance

I had the pleasure of meeting a really nice guy a couple of weeks ago. We met online as most gay men do. What was different for me this time around is instead of doing the usual texting game, we had long conversations over the phone, which I found somewhat unique or maybe the right word is retro. (Do people actually talk on the phone anymore?)

A week after talking for hours over the phone every night, we met for a drink. He called me awkward and guarded, which I found weirdly refreshing that someone called me out on my shit. We ended up making out in his car. I felt like I was in high school again making out in the car with a guy. Actually, I never made out with any guys in high school, which has no significance to this story…We continued to talk over the phone for a week. We talked about family, life and his past, things he said he never really talked about with other guys but felt he could with me.

We met again. The chemistry was palpable. He came over to my place and we laid in my bed and snuggled and even napped for a bit. Who does that the second time you meet someone, right? It felt really natural and comfortable which is usually hard for me after only meeting twice. I guess our talks over the phone allowed me to let my guard down as he called it.

After the nap, we had lunch and came back to my place where we laid in bed again and talked and laughed and cuddled some more. It was all very innocent and disgustingly cute. There was even a moment where we were staring into each other’s eyes (I know, gross!), and I knew he cared and I knew he was going to be trouble. Whether this was a good or bad kind of trouble, I wasn’t exactly sure at that very moment. For two gay men, who are into each other, and to just lay in bed, is kind of unheard of. Don’t get me wrong, we both wanted something to happen but unfortunately he couldn’t spend the night. Prior to our hanging out, he told me he wouldn’t be able to stay because of a commitment he had the next day with his church. I respected that.

With all this said, I’m leaving out a very important detail in this story. I live in Sacramento and he lives two hours away. The town he lives in has no importance just that it’s two hours away. Not the ideal situation when you like someone, however, two hours is nothing compared to a 10 hour flight to go visit your boyfriend who lives in another continent (Yes, I experienced this before!). So for me a two hour drive to his town seemed like walk in the park especially when we liked each other. Maybe I am just a romantic or maybe just desperate and wanted sex. It’s a blurry line, really.

LDR meme

Unfortunately for him, two hours was significant. The day after spending time together and realizing we had a connection that went beyond just physical attraction, we had a conversation and the distance or as he called it, the elephant in the room, was brought up. He said the distance was going to be an issue for him. He wanted to have the option to be able to see me everyday or spend the night or watch a movie at any given moment. All valid points I will admit. These long distance relationships are not easy. You need a lot of patience and more importantly, you need a lot of love for it to be worth it. And then he said something that threw me off. He said he didn’t want to hurt me and that he didn’t believe in fighting for love or to be fought for. I agree, you should never have to fight for love. Love is not something you fight for. You either feel it or you don’t. We didn’t have love, we had only known each other for 2 weeks; however, we were starting to feel something. Why would he call at 6 in the morning just to say hi or get excited when I told him I had a nickname for him.

Going the Distance 2

I am not exactly sure what got into his head. Maybe he got scared or whatever he was feeling became too real. But I believe that going the distance is worth it when you feel something. Life is too short to let an opportunity pass by. I understand the distance can and is an issue as it was for him, but if you never give it a shot, how will you ever know what you could experience? Is it best to stop early before feelings become too deep? Did he do what was best for himself or was his reaction what is best for the both of us? Was he trying to spare our feelings from getting hurt in the long run? What’s your take on this? Are long distance relationships ever worth the trouble?

 

2 responses to “Going the Distance

  1. I just have to say the distance is totally worth it when u have a connection with someone. I met my future wife and at the time she lived 7 hours away but we made it work and now we’re married and we’ve been together for 5 years now. Just saying it’s possible

    • I completely agree. If both parties are willing to work at it then it will work. Unfortunately this guy, like I wrote, didn’t believe in having to work for a relationship. Just how it goes sometimes…thank you reading!

Leave a Reply

